Launching a new blog for “the JIRA guy”

When I first started managing Atlassian tools, I was thrown into the deep end in a fast paced environment. My role was to tame JIRA and Confluence. They were (and still are!) being used in anger and an integral part of that company’s infrastructure. It wasn’t long before I was known as “the JIRA guy” and I am sure there are many others who have a similar experience.

Managing JIRA has always had its challenges. In earlier times JIRA definitely had its quirks and was at times difficult to configure or missing functionality especially for larger organisations. JIRA has come a long way and Atlassian continues to improve their tools to the level that I can confidently recommend them to large organisations. But that doesn’t mean the challenges have gone – they are just different!

I see JIRA as more than just an issue tracking tool. To me it is a platform. I have seen it used effectively for so many processes. I have always admired Atlassian’s open source approach, plugin and integration support. It is forward thinking and has largely contributed to the popularity of the tools and the ability to extend their use for wider purposes.

What is this blog going to be about? To be honest, I don’t know exactly but it will have a wide remit – from new features, plugins and news, to technical deep dive, tips, tricks, scripts and everything else I have in my arsenal to help manage JIRA effectively. I am also interested in how to effectively promote JIRA within organisations. More and more, JIRA is seen as a critical service to organisations and it is important to manage stakeholders effectively.

So, if you are passionate about JIRA and Atlassian tools, I hope you enjoy following my posts.

the jira guy

Standard

5 thoughts on “Launching a new blog for “the JIRA guy”

  1. Markus says:

    confronted with jira for the first time as a user. hope i can pick up a few tips and tricks that I can pass onto our “Jira guy”.

Leave a Reply

